Skip to content

Degrees and Accreditation

Through it’s four academic departments, the College of Mines and Earth Sciences offers three earth sciences majors and and three engineering majors.

Earth Sciences
Major Department Degrees
Atmospheric Sciences Atmospheric Sciences  B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Earth Science K-12 Teaching Geology and Geophysics B.S.
Geosciences Geology and Geophysics B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Major Department Degrees
Geological Engineering Geology and Geophysics B.S., B.S./M.S., M.E., M.S., Ph.D.
Metallurgical Engineering Metallurgical Engineering B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Mining Engineering Mining Engineering B.S., B.S./M.S., M.E., M.S., Ph.D.


The University is accredited by the Northwest Council on Colleges and Universities ( and is a member of the Utah System of Higher Education. The Department of Atmospheric Sciences is a member of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research. Curricula in geological enginering, metallurgical engineering, and mining engineering are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,

Last Updated: 4/27/21