Skip to content

STUDENT INVOLVEMENT

The College of Mines and Earth Sciences has a wide range of student clubs and organizations that help you interact with your fellow students, attend different events throughout the year, and get the most out of your college experience!

College Student Council

ASUU Senator: 

For more information contact Michelle Tuitupou : 
michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 

 

This club is designed to maximize the potential of students, scientists, engineers, and professionals in the Earth Science community. This includes semester-long professional development and workshops, inclusivity and implicit bias training, safety training, weekly study sessions, social hours, and outreach opportunities. Get involved today! 

Contact us at cmesunite@gmail.com 

Follow us on Facebook !

 

Atmospheric Sciences

AMS

AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY

The American Meteorological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications. Not only does it consist of Atmospheric Sciences undergraduate and graduate students, but also of weather enthusiasts from all over campus.The AMS is part of ASUU and is open to all University of Utah students.

For more information contact: 

President: Cameron Negrete; u0899686@utah.edu

Vice President: Alex Lukinbeal; u0824940@utah.edu

Secretary: Caitlynn Taylor; u097968@utah.edu

 

 



 UTE WEATHER CENTER

The Ute Weather Center is a student-run forecast center that allows students to gain real-time experience. The Weather Center provides campus and the surrounding areas with daily forecasts and weather updates. 

Check out our website !

Follow us on Twitter! 
@UteWeather

 Director: Karlie Rees; karlie.rees@utah.edu

Assistant Director: Kai Tawa; kai.tawa@utah.edu

Chief Meteorologist: Cole Osborne; u0949000@utah.edu

Senior Meteorologist: Spencer Tangen; u0685173@utah.edu

 
REUs 

Research Experiences for Undergraduates

For more information contact: 

Holly Moreno

holly.moreno@utah.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Utah Ski Weather 

President: Peter Veals; peter.veals@utah.edu

Geology and Geophysics 

SEG

Society of Economic

Geology

For more information contact: 

Patrick Loury

patrick.loury@utah.edu

Student Chapter of the association of environmental and engineering geologists

For more information contact: 

Hailee Cox 

hailee.cox@hotmail.com

AAPG

American Association for petroleum geologists

For more information contact: 

Marco Gorenc

marco.gorenc@utah.edu

GeoClub



For more information contact:

Michelle Tuitupou 

michelle.tuitupou@utah.edu

 

Metallurgical Engineering 

Materials Advantage

A joint student chapter of four materials professional societies

For more information contact:

Travis Willard

travis.willard@utah.edu

 

TMS

The minerals, metals, and materials society

 

ASM International

Formerly known as American Society of Metals

Metallurgical Society of C.I.M.

 

 

Mining Engineering 

SME

society of mining, metallurgy, and exploration

For more information contact:

Kylie Boyce 

u0867977@utah.edu

WIM

Women in Mining

 

The number of women in mining engineering has grown and keeps growing! This group was established to support and encourage women in the pursuit of their science degrees while providing networking and lifelong friendship connections. All women and men within the Mining Engineering Department are encouraged to join!


Staff Sponsor: Pam Hofmann 

pam.hofmann@utah.edu

facebook

Utah Robotics

 

For more information contact:

Freshman/Sophomore Rep:

 Breana Sanders

 brea_sanders93@hotmail.com
Undergraduate Rep: 

Andrew Austin  

arcadian_music@yahoo.com

Mine Rescue
Team 

 

Parker Archer 

parker.archer1705@gmail.com

 

Last Updated: 4/27/21